Sotomayor Confirmation Passes Committee

Today, the Senate Judiciary Committee voted to move Judge Sonia Sotomayor’s confirmation to the full Senate. The Senate Judiciary Committee vote of 13-6 was mostly along party lines. A lone Republican crossed the partisan divide to vote for her: Senator Lindsey Graham (SC). The following is a breakdown of who voted for Sotomayor:


Senator Lindsey Graham (R-SC)

Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT)

Senator Herb Kohl (D-WI)

Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)

Senator Russ Feingold (D-WI)

Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY)

Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL)

Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD)

Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)

Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)

Senator Arlen Specter (D-PA)

Senator Al Franken (D-MN)

Senator Ted Kaufman (D-DE)

Senator Jeff Sessions (R-AL)

Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

Senator Chuck Grassley (R-IA)

Senator Jon Kyl (R-AZ)

Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)

Senator Tom Coburn (R-OK)

The next step in the confirmation is a full Senate hearing and vote. The confirmation in the full Senate will likely be easily, with Republican Senators Olympia Snowe and Susan Collins (R-ME), Mel Martinez (R-FL), and Richard Lugar (R-IN) all stating that they plan on voting in favor of her confirmation. RMC will continue to update our blogs and Twitter accounts on any news.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: